Writing Camp newbie here

Simone HeidrichSimone Heidrich Member, Teacher
edited June 8 in Writing Camps

Knowing that I could potentially have 30-50 students in a summer camp, how much time is spent per child on the feedback process during the 1:00 p.m. -3:00p.m. review period? That seems like a lot of chapters to read and give personal feedback?

For my first camp, is it possible to set a limit on how many participants? I am probably overreacting and worrying too much about the time commitment, but I want to know what I will be getting into, so that I will do a good job. :-)

Best Answers

• Ken HaynesKen Haynes ✭✭
    Accepted Answer

Hi Simone - Thanks for your interest in conducting a BoomWriter Online Writing Camp, which I think you'll find to be a rather pleasant way to generate income during the summer.

Your question is a good one, as it will be difficult to provide very specific, detailed feedback for that many students. Unfortunately, the site is unable to lower the maximum number of students from the current 50. It truly is a trade-off in that more campers = less time dedicated to each one. Fortunately, the BW Camp manual does provide some PD that may prove helpful with providing effective feedback in an efficient manner. Another suggestion may be to focus on one or two aspects of writing (e.g. choosing the 'just right' word) or perhaps zero in on one part to compliment and one part that can be improved.

Again, these are simply a couple of suggestions that I hope prove helpful. Please keep us informed of how your camp registration goes and if we can be of further assistance.

• Toby MetcalfToby Metcalf admin
    Accepted Answer

Thanks for asking this @Simone Heidrich - I will look into this and reply.
    Toby

Answers

• Toby MetcalfToby Metcalf Administrator, Team BoomWriter admin

Hi @Simone Heidrich